Review Of New Stone Temple Pilots Album

The upcoming self-titled STONE TEMPLE PILOTS album is available for streaming in its entirety on

STP reunited in 2008 after a six-year “break”. The group’s self-titled 6th album is its first all-new effort since 2001’s “Shangri-La-Dee-Da“.

The track listing:
01. Between The Lines
02. Take A Load Off
03. Huckleberry Crumble
04. Hickory Dichotomy
05. Dare If You Dare
06. Cinnamon
07. Hazy Daze
08. Bagman
09. Peacoat
10. Fast As I Can
11. First Kiss On Mars
12. Maver

Let me preface this by saying this – I am a HUGE Stone Temple Pilots fan! I’ve been to numerous STP concerts, even skipping Thanksgiving Dinner one year so I could see them at the Wachovia Center. (One of the best live shows I’ve ever seen!)

Unfortunately, after STP disbanded, Scott Weiland tried his hand at a solo career. It was crap. Then the band tried regrouping without Weiland, and called themselves Talk Show. Also crap. In 2004, Velvet Revolver came about, and they had a great run! But in 2008, Weiland parted ways with the group..

So back to the new album.. My initial thoughts? Bland.. It’s got a Velvet Revolver vibe going on, but nothing that’s really captured my attention. I’m continuing to listen to it, hoping that it’ll grow on me. But it doesn’t hold a candle to their older albums. And that’s a real shame.

Nonetheless, you might feel differently about it.. Give it a listen at, and if you like what you hear, you can pre-order it from Amazon for only $9.99!

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Zander Chance via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply